The Nation

The Nation


National Language: Hindi National Bird: Peacock National Animal: Tiger National Tree: Banyan Tree National Flower: Lotus National Fruit: Mango National Game: Hockey Population :1,210,193,422 Number of States: 29 Number of Union Territories: 7 Religions: Hindu: 82% Islam: 13%, Christian: 2.5% Other: 2.5% Currency: Rupee Crops: Rice, wheat, corn, maize, sugar, peanuts, chilies, spices Minerals: Iron, coal, granite, black stone, byrates

Sponsor a Child

Sponsorship is the most direct way to help the needy. It makes a big difference in the lives of many. Join us to give bright future.

India is the largest democratic country and seventh largest country in the world. The distance from north to south is approximately 3220 kilometers and the distance from East to West approximately 3000 kilometers. It has over one billion people and geographically is about one third the size of the United States. It has water on three sides. There are 18 major languages and hundreds of dialects.

India received independence from the British on August 15, 1947. It is divided into many states. The Central government has its capital in New Delhi and looks after the welfare of the whole country. However, it is difficult to pay attention to local problems. Therefore India is divided into states. The State government looks after the needs of its states. There are twenty eight states. Some parts of the country are directly under the control of the central government. They are called Union Territories. Every state has its own capital and its own government. For each state there is a Governor, Chief Minister and council of ministers to run the government. Each state has a different language, culture and food habits. India is predominantly an agricultural country, but since its independence, it has grown to be a leading industrial country. At present, it has made great progress in information technology.

The National Flag: The national flag is divided horizontally into three equal parts. The three parts are of three different colors. The upper most part is of a saffron color. It is the symbol of reunification, valor and sacrifice. The middle part of the flag is in pure white. White color stands for truth and purity. The lowest part is in dark green. It represents life and prosperity. In the national flag, in the centre of the white stripe is a circular wheel, charka of navy blue color. It has 24 spikes on it. The charka is taken from the Asoka pillar at Saranath near Varanasi. The wheel reminds us of motion, progress and great activity.

The National Anthem:

Jana-Gana-mana-adhinayaka,Jaya he, Bharata-bhagya-vidhata. Punjaba-Sindhu-Gujarata-maratha Dravida-utkala-banga Vindhya-Himachala-Yamuna-ganga Uchchala-jaladhi-taranga. Tava subha name jage, Tava subha asisa mage, Gahe tava jaya-gatha. Jana-Gana-mangala-dayaka,jaya he, Bharata-Bhagya-vidhata. Jaya he,Jaya he,Jaya he.

Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people, Dispenser of India’s destiny. Thy name rouses the hearts of the Punjab, Sind, Gujarat and Maratha, of the Dravid and Orissa and Bengal. It echoes in the hills of Vindhyas and Himalayas, mingles in the music of the Jamuna and the Ganges and is chanted by the waves of the Indian sea. They pray for the blessings and sing thy praise.

The National Anthem is a song in praise of motherland. It gives a message of tolerance and national unity. It is written by poet and nobel price winner Rabindranath Tagore.

The National Emblem: The emblem is in two parts. It has a crest and the base. The crest shows four lions. The base shows a horse to the left, a bull to the right and a wheel in between. Below the crest is written, “Satyameva Jayate.” It means, “Truth alone triumphs.”

Marriage: Wedding is a very important event in the Indian family. Traditionally most of the marriages are arranged by the parents. This is more so in the villages than in the urban areas. However, the trend is slowly changing. The family place a very important role in arranging marriage and in the the life of an individual.

Education: The Education System in modern India goes back to 1857. It is divided as follows: 1st to 5th grades is primary school 6th to 10th grades is high school 11th and 12th grades is junior college Three years of bachelors and two years of masters. Post graduate courses and doctoral studies are available.

After 12th grade one can continue on in professional courses like medicine or engineering or any technical studies.

Caste System: The caste system is very ancient and is still strong in most of India especially the rural villages. It is very difficult to overestimate the hold this system has on the heart and mind of many Indians as one inherits the caste through birth. There is no way to wipe it out but it has been diffused through educational opportunities.

Climate: There are different climates. It is cooler in the north than in the south. It rains more in coastal areas and much less in deserts and inland.

FCN is presently is helping the children and college students in India. Child labor is a serious problem. Many a times older children have to stay home to look after the younger children so that parents can work in the fields. Through sponsorship, children are helped to go to schools and parents are motivated about the importance of education. Malnutrition is another problem. Most of the people in the villages do not eat a balanced diet. The health and sanitation conditions are very poor. Sponsorship provides better living conditions.

State Of Telangana

Telangana became the 29th state of India on 2 June 2014. It was previously a part of the state that was earlier known as Andhra Pradesh. Before India became independent it was included in the state of Hyderabad, which comprised two divisions, namely, Warangal and Medak. At that time the region was governed by the Nizams. The region has been in news recently as the focal point of a tussle between the erstwhile state of Andhra Pradesh and the national administration - while the Union Government has agreed to the creation of the new state, Andhra Pradesh has opposed it on grounds of territorial integrity. The region, as per the 2011 Census, has a population of 3,52,86,757, which accounted for 41.6% of the population of Andhra Pradesh.

State Of Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh is a state located in Southern India. It shares its boundaries with Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Telangana and Odisha to the north, Tamil Nadu in the south, the Bay of Bengal to the east, and Karnataka in the west. Andhra Pradesh is the fourth largest state by area and the fifth largest state by population in India.

Hyderabad is the shared capital of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The city is famous for its rich cultural heritage. Vijayawada bears testimony to the existence of old age Buddhist and Hindu civilizations and historical monuments. Puttaparthi and Tirumala are two holy religious hubs in the southern area of the state.

The state of Andhra Pradesh forms a part of the famous Deccan plateau and has the second-longest coastline of 972 km in India. Two major rivers traversing this plateau are the Krishna and Godavari Rivers. While running across the state, the two rivers create huge deltas prior to flowing into the Bay of Bengal.

Andhra Pradesh is quite rich in minerals and holds the 2nd position in the nation in terms of its mineral resources. The important industries in Andhra Pradesh include Biotechnology, Information Technology, Business Management, Pharmaceuticals, and Construction and Real Estate.

The official language of the state is Telugu and Urdu is the co-official language. Some other languages which are often spoken in Andhra Pradesh are Tamil, Oriya, Marathi, Kannada and Hindi. Telugu people are the main ethnic group in the state, they are primarily Dravidians.